Review of The World Walker by Ian W. Sainsbury

I posted this review on GoodReads.com on 1 June 2017.

The World Walker (The World Walker, #1)The World Walker by Ian W. Sainsbury

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book came to my attention thanks to Amazon’s Daily Kindle Deals. The blurb sounded intriguing with its global setting and magic and ancient organisations and “(a)t the center (sic) of it all, Seb Varden, a 32-year old musician with a secret in his past, slits his wrists, is shot dead and run over on the freeway. He’s had better days.”

I started reading with a little trepidation, which is the lot of the reader of self-published material. However, I was very happy with the quality of the writing, the grammar, the characters and the story, not just in the opening chapters but also at the end. The story has a proper ending even though Ian Sainsbury plans further books. It truly is stand-alone while leaving mysteries still to solve.

Most reviews on Amazon have been positive. One negative one refers to the violence and I wanted to address that. There is some. However, I thought it was appropriate to the story and it introduced a sufficient amount of jeopardy from start to finish. The violence is not all-encompassing (you may find that to be strange language but it’s spoiler-avoiding!), which is nice. Of course, I’m a person who reads lots of crime and thriller books so maybe my bar is higher than some people’s.

I should also like to put in a good word for meditation. Read the book, you’ll understand!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

