Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears – a review

This is a new venture for me: a review of a novel.  Let me know if it interests you or helps you in deciding whether to read the book or not.

The novel is set in NSW, Australia, from the 1920s to the early 1950s.  It is deals with farmers in a world of horses and country shows and high jumping.  The protagonist is a woman from a quite poor background.

And, it is a love story of normal people who are inarticulate and powerless in the face of what happens to them.  I’m not sure I can say more or I may spoil it for you.

I found the book so sad – achingly sad – that I could hardly bear to finish it.

The opening is shocking in its immediate events.  It created an undercurrent for me – as for the protagonist, I guess – what happened to the character who appears briefly in the beginning?  Will we ever know and will the character play a role?  Again, I can’t say too much.  “Spoilers, sweetie!”

You can perhaps see that the book is evocative.  It creates a world that is real and believable.  It constructs a window into a time and a place.

For my part, I was glad it wasn’t a door and that I could stay on the outside, looking in.  I didn’t want to be there.

Maybe I don’t really like great literature.  I like detective stories and lighter novels that have loose-ends-tied-up endings.  Alright, not like real life.  Maybe not giving insight into real life.  But I like them.  I like the escapism of them.

So, my conclusion is: it is an evocative novel and I’m glad I read it.

Here is the publisher’s description for more details.

Leave a Reply

