The carnival is over

We’re going back to the UK.

Yes, that’s right.  Our great Australian Adventure is coming to an end.

No, don’t worry, those of you who thought we were going to be here for three years or so, your mind isn’t playing time tricks on you.  It is only just over 13 months since we arrived.  The job I was doing and that sponsored me for the visa has finished much earlier than we expected.

So,

I’m coming home. I’m coming home. Jackie’s coming home!

My feelings are rather mixed.

I focused on my job for much of my time here so when that ended I didn’t feel very much at home.  I’ve been told it can take a more than a year to settle in and I guess that is the case.  However, in the last couple of months, I’ve settled in much better so I’m increasingly sad at the idea of leaving.  Ironic, eh?

It does feel like at the end of a wonderful holiday; like when you don’t want to leave but you have to go back to real life.  That’s the thing – Australia doesn’t feel like “real life” to me.

Anyway, like it or not, it’s homeward-bound we are, arriving in the UK at the end of May.

By the way, the title is a reference to a song by Tom Springfield.  It is based on a Russian folk tune and, in 1965, he added lyrics for the Australian group The Seekers .  You can see them singing it in a farewell concert in 1968, on YouTube, by clicking here.

What I didn’t realise when I chose this title was how appropriate it was.  The Seekers used the song to close their concerts.  In the intervening 40 years, Australians have often used it to close concerts and events, including the 2000 Sydney Paralympic Games. So, appropriate song, then!

Leave a Reply

