12 6 12 – a yearning for harmony

It’s one of those dates. Symmetry is on display: 12 6 12. Of course, it’s all manufactured by humans. And, yet, it makes me smile. I *like* the symmetry.

The progress of the planet around the sun and the turning of the planet as she goes: they are natural. The way we designate the number of the year and the month and even the day: they are manufactured-by-human, arbitrary.

Perhaps more significantly, this symmetry is available only to a subset of humankind. Only a proportion of us use that calendar and display it using Roman numerals in that way. Even readers in the US will look at this and wonder what I am talking about and come back to it in December.

So, the symmetry is not real. It is my perception that creates the symmetry. And yet I am ridiculously amused and pleased to see it.

That says more about my desire for harmony than about the universe’s propensity for harmony. Maybe it is a human desire for harmony. The key thing is not to impose my perception of what harmony is on other people. Oh, but look, here I am blogging about it!

This is what you get when you try to post once a day. Tell me what you think of today’s date and my blog.

One thought on “12 6 12 – a yearning for harmony

  1. For most up-to-date information you have to pay
    a visit world-wide-web and on the web I found this web page as a finest website for most
    recent updates.

Leave a Reply

