The beauty of Málaga

As I left Málaga the other evening, I was struck again by its beauty.

The city is a sprawl across a plain held securely by a curve of mountain ranges landward and the Mediterranean blue. On either direction along the Costa del Sol stretch the urbanisation that has given so many Brits affordable holidays in the sun. It would be easy to focus only on the human damage to the natural terrain.

What I love are the spectacular barren slopes of those mountains. The sinking sun gave them more contrast and interest than usual. There may even have been a hint of green here and there. They create a very alien landscape compared to the green of so much of the UK.

I do wish I could see it for a moment as it was in the early 60s before the development. But I don’t begrudge all the work and pleasure that such development has given both Andalucían and tourist.

Meanwhile the hills remain, a sight for slightly travel-weary eyes, and I’m glad I saw them in the dying of the light.

Leave a Reply

