I love my iPhone …

… I do, I do, I do!

I admit I came to smartphones lat-ish, getting my iPhone only in August 2010, but I do find it a boon. From helping me find my way to meetings around London, to knowing the weather, to keeping in touch with people and to helping me organise my time, it is makes my life easier and more fun.

There is a lot of discussion about how Apps are dividing the internet into proprietary enclaves. However, the reason they are so popular is that they provide users, particularly non-technical users, with what they want in an easy-to-use package.

Every working day, I wake up to my Sleep Cycle app and I use Mail to check my email from different accounts. I load iPhone versions of the Financial Times, The Times, The Guardian, The Telegraph and The Independent and can quickly scan the business headlines. I can check Twitter and Facebook and LinkedIn using their apps – and can again post to mulitple accounts using Hootsuite. In this way, I keep up-to-date with what is going on in the world and with my friends before my very beautiful PC has even finished its boot sequence.

I check how the tubes are running with Tube Deluxe and can find my way more efficiently using Tube Exits and the standard Map.

I make notes of what’s going on in my life using Momento; I record thoughts on projects and other to dos in Evernote or in my diary; and it is much easier to Post once a day in 2012 when I use the WordPress app.

All these tools mean I can record life and take action when I think of it, not later when I am at home or in the office. It is a powerful information and communication device, like Box on “Star Cops”, for those who remember that programme. You can even use more and more voice control.

Clearly, the small form factor can be difficult for some people to see. That is one advantage that the iPad has. However, for me, it is a wonderful gadget – and I do miss using it when I’m outside the UK. Maybe I should investigate a worldwide data tariff! 🙂

That’s me, out! I’m off to cuddle my iPhone! TTFN!

One thought on “I love my iPhone …

  1. Pingback: iPhone meditation apps | Life - not as we know it...

Leave a Reply

